Mirror Mirror on the Wall and Hair Thingamajiggas

Standard

Chevron Framed Mirror

Materials:

Wood Framed Mirror

Painter’s tape (Blue tape or green (Froggie tape)

Rustoleum Metallic Gold Spray Paint

This blog post is for anyone that is itching to change their home surroundings. My advice is to first start with the things that are in your home. You are more than likely surrounded by jewels. That old bench might just need a new fabric on the seat cushion and spray paint on the legs. This is an easy and cheap modification. Another good tidbit is to go to open houses, sometimes they are staged well and can offer good inspiration. On Labor Day, I took a look around my house and noticed this old wood framed mirror. It is located at the top of my stairs above this upholstered rot iron bench. It is in immaculate condition. I thought to myself this wood framed mirror would rock with chevrons. So I took it off the nail and I got my scotch tape ( you can use painter’s tape) and I started creating chevrons. After I created all of my chevrons around the frame, I covered the actual mirror part. Next I put the wood framed mirror on the drop cloth and I grabbed out my metallic gold spray paint and sprayed away! I did one coat let it dry for thirty minutes and then I applied another coat of spray paint. When the second coat was completely dried, I took off all of the scotch tape and I had funky chevrons on my once plain wood framed mirror.

Before chevron mirror

spray painted chevron mirror

after chevron mirror

Mason Hair Jar

Materials:

Mason jar, old spaghetti jar or salsa jar

Dresser pull

Fine grit sandpaper

Spray paint (optional)

If you are like me, I go through 10 or more Goody Elastics a week. I needed to find a way to better control my hair thingamajiggas. Between my daughter and I, I would lose tons of bobby pins, clips and Goody Elastics all the time. I was watching Nate Berkus a while ago and he had a guest on his show that was taking used spaghetti jars, sanding the tops and screwing an old vintage dresser pull on it and displaying things in the jar. The items being displayed could be anything from small pine cones to buttons. So I decided to do the same thing but use it to help with keeping control of my hair thingamajiggas. It was so easy to do and it helped out so much!!

20130903-013302.jpg

*After sanding the jar lid, I actually spray painted it for a more fun look.

Nia Junkie

One response »

Leave a comment